Established in October 2012, the Faculty of Law of Trento is a department incorporating the educational activity of the Faculty of Law (founded in 1984) and the research activities of the Department of Legal Sciences (founded in January 1987).

The Faculty of Law is currently composed by 81 professors (32 full professors, 24 associate professors, 15 assistant professors) and 6 fixed-term researchers.

The governing bodies of the Faculty are: the Dean, the Faculty Board and the Dean’s Advisory Board.

The Faculty hosts also the Doctoral Programme in Comparative and European Legal Studies (PhD Programme) which started in 2003/2004, by joining the previous PhD courses in Criminal Law (existing since 1991/1992), Comparative Private Law (existing since 1992/1993) and Fundamental Rights in Constitutional, Comparative Administrative and EU Law (existing since 1992/1993).

Moreover, young scholars, whose research is financed by the Faculty, as well as through external fundings (MIUR-PRIN, UE, PAT, Fondazione Cassa di Risparmio di Trento e Rovereto, and others ) pursue their academic activity as temporary researchers.